Celebrating 20 Years of Nirvana

Nevermind, by Nirvana
via Guille.17‘s Flickr

Spin is celebrating Nirvana’s 20th year anniversary with a special compilation album featuring covers by JEFF the Brotherhood, Titus Andronicus, Telekinesis, The Vaselines, Amanda Palmer and more. The release titled Newermind is a track-by-track tribute to Nirvana’s Nevermind. Spin editor-in-chief Steve Kandell talked with NPR about the project:

[via NPR]

The most intriguing angle was getting bands like the Meat Puppets and the Vaselines, who were famously covered by Nirvana, to finally repay the favor, and with “Smells Like Teen Spirit” and “Lithium,” respectively, Nevermind‘s two best-known songs, at that. This band, and of course this record in particular, is something that Spin has covered a lot over the past 20 years, so doing this in a way that felt exciting and different was imperative. 

Download the entire album for free here

Track listing:
1. “Smells Like Teen Spirit” Meat Puppets
2. “In Bloom” Butch Walker
3. “Come As You Are” Midnight Juggernauts
4. “Breed” Titus Andronicus
5. “Lithium” The Vaselines
6. “Polly” Amanda Palmer
7. “Territorial Pissings” Surfer Blood
8. “Drain You” Foxy Shazam
9. “Lounge Act” Jessica Lea Mayfield
10. “Stay Away” Charles Bradley and the Menahan Street Band
11. “On A Plain” Telekinesis
12. “Something In The Way” JEFF the Brotherhood
13. “Endless, Nameless” EMA

Be first to comment